View Full Version : All Please read!!!!!!!!!
Lynda Collins
20-11-2008, 12:32 PM
This was posted by Stacey Novak of Transliving
http://www.transliving.org.uk/images/icons/icon1.gif Urgent mesage to all forum members.
There is new program called GROUPLY it may seem innocent enough to those thinking that it is a way of gaining friends.
Under NO circumstances use this forum to invite people.
This program upon acceptance harvest every one in your Yahoo address book and possibly other address books.
It is a very dangerous program and can leak out security information as if there are people in your files you do not wish to know you private business, use this and they soon will.
I request every member reading this please put through read, so we are aware of who may not see it.
IT is very important that YOU DO NOT use this program via, Transliving forum or an other ON-LINE GROUP
__________________
Hugs Stacy Group leader.
Worth taking note of.............
julieblack
20-11-2008, 01:17 PM
hi lynda i've heard of this from other forums that i'm on and they too advise not to join Grouply for the exact reasons mentioned, i've had a couple of people send a message through claiming they have the same interests and to join them on Grouply, the best and wisest thing to do if in doubt is delete Grouply message see you all next tuesday
love julieblack:)
steph321
20-11-2008, 02:41 PM
sounds nasty will avoid at all costs
kimberly
20-11-2008, 04:02 PM
Thanks Lynda,
Will avoid that one.
Many thanks Kim x
rachelb
21-11-2008, 08:56 PM
Thanks for the warning, i had about three of them the last few days, all from the same addressee
noeleena
22-11-2008, 10:24 AM
hi... thanks i got the mesage from stacy .. i am on transliving as well ...... thank you .... ...noeleena...
KatieM
23-11-2008, 12:32 PM
Hi Lynda
Thanks for the advice not heard of Grouply before but if I ever come across it will give it a wide birth.
Many thanks.
Katie M xxx
Evette
23-11-2008, 03:55 PM
Hi Lynda
grouply has been banned by most of the groups i am in allready
as you say its a nasty little piece of work
Evette
Sara Rae
24-11-2008, 10:14 AM
Grouply has been around for a while it make a regular aperance on the Angels Forun presumably when someome falls for it
Jillx88
24-11-2008, 06:00 PM
Hi, thanks for the warning on this one. Like a lot of other members I have come across this warning on other group sites but it's well worth passing around to make sure evryone gets to see it. I'm always wary of these sort of 'friendship' groups and the invitations they send out as a lot of them seem to automatically search through your address books and subsequently send out invitations to the people they find listed. Not ideal if you have people in your address book who you'd rather not know about your 'alter ego'. Take care everyone and consider the personal circumstances of your 'contacts' - they might not be as 'open' or 'out' about their circumstances as perhaps you might be. Hope to see you all on Tuesday ( 25/11 ) - my first trip to a meeting. :)
ESTELLE
27-11-2008, 05:58 PM
One tip I came across is to put all your contacts into something like Notepad
or similar. The idea is that it is hard to trawl for contacts in an empty address book. Suppose the sensible thing is to avoid sites like that.
Keep safe
Estelle xxxx
ESTELLE
28-11-2008, 05:45 PM
I seen a tip a while ago that might be useful.
Keep your contacts in something like notepad or similar
Programs do not trawl them and so cannot harvest details.
Keeping contacts in an address book can be dodgy.
The only downside is that you have to copy and paste from notepad,
but if it keeps you safe what the heck.
Estelle xxxx
Kaity
01-12-2008, 07:42 PM
yeah, I almost got caught by this site last week, one to be wary of.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.